FGDC Executive Committee

The FGDC Executive Committee is a subset of the Steering Committee members and provides advice and guidance to the FGDC Chair and the Vice Chair on major Federal geospatial priorities and initiatives.  The committee convened on April 11, 2008.  The FGDC Chair and Vice-Chair lead this committee which has representation from OMB and the seven Federal agencies with the largest investments in geospatial technologies.  The Executive Committee develops, reviews and/or coordinates interagency concepts and proposals, as requested by the FGDC Chair, for consideration by the FGDC Steering Committee as a whole.  All final decisions are made by the FGDC Steering Committee.  The roles and responsibilities and the  working of the  Executive Committee is described in the Executive Committee Charter.


 Executive Committee members are Senior Agency Officials for Geospatial Information (SAOGI's) from the following agencies. Current SAOGI's are listed under the Steering Committee membership.

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of the Interior
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration


The Executive Committee meets as needed at the invitation of the FGDC chair, usually 3-4 times per year.

Key Documents