FGDC Executive Committee

The FGDC Executive Committee is a subset of the FGDC Steering Committee members and provides advice and guidance to the FGDC Chair and the Vice Chair on major Federal geospatial priorities and initiatives. The Executive Committee is co-chaired by the Executive Director of the FGDC and an annually approved Executive Committee member. The Executive Committee has representation from OMB and Federal agencies with major programmatic geospatial responsibilities.  The Executive Committee provides strategic leadership, recommendations, and Federal interagency coordination to the FGDC in the development, implementation, and review of laws, policies, practices, and standards relating to geospatial data, implementation of FGDC initiatives, and coordination of responses to national issues and with applicable Federal interagency bodies.  All final decisions are made by the FGDC Steering Committee.   The roles and responsibilities and the  working of the  Executive Committee is described in the Executive Committee Charter.


Executive Committee members are Senior Agency Officials for Geospatial Information (SAOGI's) from the following agencies. Current SAOGI's are listed under the Steering Committee membership.

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of the Interior
  • Department of Transportation
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Office of Management and Budget


The Executive Committee meets as needed at the invitation of the Executive Committee Co-Chairs. ExCom meetings are internal business meetings and attendance is limited to members.

Key Documents