Department of the Interior Appoints 14 Members to National Geospatial Advisory Committee

January 9, 2017

The Department of the Interior has appointed 14 individuals to serve as members of the National Geospatial Advisory Committee (NGAC), which provides advice and recommendations on federal geospatial policy and management issues and the development of the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI). The NSDI promotes sharing of geospatial data across all levels of government, the private and non-profit sectors, and the academic community.

The Department has also reappointed the Chair and Vice-Chair of the NGAC. Julie Sweetkind-Singer, the NGAC Chair, is the Assistant Director of Geospatial and Cartographic Services; and Head Librarian of the Branner Earth Sciences Library & Map Collections at Stanford University.  Keith Masback, the NGAC Vice-Chair, serves as the Chief Executive Officer of the U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation.

The NGAC includes up to 30 members, selected to achieve a balanced representation of the varied interests associated with geospatial programs and technology. NGAC members are appointed to serve staggered terms on the committee. The 2017 appointees to three-year terms on the NGAC are:

  • Mr. Gar Clarke, State of New Mexico
  • Mr. Garet Couch, National Tribal Geographic Information Support Center
  • Ms. Patricia Cummens, ESRI (reappointed to a second term)
  • Mr. Stuart Davis, State of Ohio
  • Ms. Roberta Lenczowski, Roberta E. Lenczowski Consulting
  • Mr. Keith Masback, U. S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation (reappointed to a second term)
  • Mr. Kevin Pomfret, Centre for Spatial Law and Policy (reappointed to a second term)
  • Major General William N. Reddel III, New Hampshire National Guard (reappointed to a second term)
  • Ms. Rebecca Somers, Somers-St. Claire GIS Management Consultants
  • Mr. Cy Smith, State of Oregon
  • Ms. Jennie Stapp, State of Montana
  • Ms. Julie Sweetkind-Singer, Stanford University (reappointed to a second term)
  • Dr. Harvey Thorleifson, State of Minnesota (reappointed to a second term)
  • Mr. Jason Warzinik, Boone County, Missouri (reappointed to a second term)

The NGAC meets three to four times per year. The public is invited to comment and make suggestions at all committee meetings, which will be announced by publication in the Federal Register at least 15 days before the meeting date. The U.S. Geological Survey, a bureau of the Department of the Interior, provides support services for the NGAC. The NGAC functions solely as an advisory body.

The NGAC was created under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, enacted by Congress in 1972 to ensure that advice rendered to the executive branch by advisory committees, task forces, boards, and commissions formed by Congress and the President, be both objective and accessible to the public. The Act formalized a process for establishing, operating, overseeing, and terminating these advisory bodies.

Additional information about the NGAC, including a complete list of the 28 committee members, is available at

Related Items