Personal tools
You are here: Home Grants 2011 NSDI CAP 2011 NSDI CAP Projects Iowa Metadata Outreach Project
Document Actions

Iowa Metadata Outreach Project

Award Number G11AC20062, Category 1: Metadata Trainer and Outreach Assistance

The overarching goal of this project was to provide GIS users in the state of Iowa with metadata training, assistance, and management support. One key success of the Iowa Metadata Outreach Project was the education and outreach component of the project. Over the course of the project, 110 people participated in outreach events - four day-long metadata trainings and three shorter metadata outreach presentations. A second key success was the re-launch and refinement of the Iowa Geospatial Data Clearinghouse (IGDC) as a data discovery tool for creating, hosting, and serving metadata records from various state agencies.  Over 150 new metadata records have been created or uploaded to the IGDC over the course of this project.

Final Report -- March 20, 2013 Presentation for FGDC Metadata Working Group

Interim Reports - December 2011 -- April 2012

Training Materials -- Additional Training Materials -- Iowa Service Bureau Blog

Iowa Geographic Information Council

Contacts:

Jim Giglierano, Iowa DNR
319-335-1594
james.giglierano@dnr.iowa.gov

Amy Logan
515-294-0980
amylogan@iastate.edu

Brad Cutler, IGIC Chair, Iowa DOT
515-239-1306
brad.cutler@dot.iowa.gov

Casey Kohrt, Iowa DNR
319-335-1353
casey.kohrt@dnr.iowa.gov

Patrick Wilke-Brown, Iowa DNR
515-681-6905
patrick.wilke-brown@dnr.iowa.gov

Kevin Kane, ISU GISSRF
515-294-0526
kkane@iastate.edu

Terry Brase, IGIC Treasurer
319-398-5458
Terry.Brase@kirkwood.edu

Jim Langtry, USGS Geospatial Liaison
402-328-4128
jlangtry@usgs.gov

Last Updated: Mar 21, 2013 11:16 AM
Spinner Image