Unified Federal Review Coordination Group Action Item Update

At the 18 February 2014 FGDC Coordination Group meeting, Deidre McCarthy (Cultural Resource Subcommittee) briefed the Coordination Group on the ongoing Unified Federal Review led by FEMA and DHS to develop a unified federal environmental and historic preservation review process relating to disaster recovery projects.  Data and IT deliverables for this effort are being coordinated by DHS and the National Park Service (Chair of the Cultural Resource Subcommittee) with input from interagency working group members.  These deliverables include a compilation of existing digital data standards for natural and cultural resources, as well as general standards for GIS data.  A spreadsheet containing the identified standards and explanations of the standards was presented to the Coordination Group for review and comment before being submitted to the Unified Federal Review Steering Group as a final product.  The Standards Working Group provided the only comments/edits received.  All of these changes were incorporated into the document and the final version was submitted to the Unified Federal Review Steering Committee on 24 February 2014.

Comments, Edits and Suggestions included:

  • Addition of a comment field to provide additional explanation relative to the standard creation/process/development
  • Correct titles for standards and status updates
  • Corrected links for standards information
  • Addition of standards not included in previous drafts
  • Removal of standards due to status change, duplication or relevance to subject matter

Standards included on the final submission:

FGDC Standards

  • FGDC-STD-001-1998 (Content Standard for Digital Geospatial Metadata)
  • FGDC-STD-002-1998 (Spatial Data Transfer Standard)
  • FGDC-STD-007.1-1998 (Geospatial Positioning Standards:  Part 1, Reporting Methodology)
  • FGDC-STD-014-2008 (Geographic Information Framework Data Standard)
  • FGDC-STD-014.3-2008 (Geographic Information Framework Data Standard, Part 3, Elevation)
  • FGDC-STD-014.6-2008 (Geographic Information Framework Data Content Standard, Part 6, Hydrography)
  • FGDC-STD-014.5-2008 (Governmental Unit and Other Geographic Area Boundaries)
  • FGDC-STD-016-2011 (United States Thoroughfare, Landmark, and Postal Address Data Standard)


FGDC Endorsed Standards

  • ANSI-INCITS 446-2008 (Information Technology-Identifying Attributes for Names Physical and Cultural Geographic Features, except roads and highways)
  • ISO 19107:2003 (Geographic Information-Spatial Schema)
  • ISO 19108:2002 (Geographic Information-Temporal Schema)
  • ISO 19110:2005 (Geographic Information-Methodology for Feature Cataloguing)
  • ISO 19111:2007 (Geographic Information-Spatial Referencing by Coordinates)
  • ISO 19115:2003 (Geographic Information-Metadata)
  • ISO 6709:2008 (Standards Representation of Geographic Point Locations)
  • ISO 19104:2008 (Geographic Information-Terminology)
  • ISO 19136:2007 (Geographic Information-Geography Markup Language)
  • ISO 19138:2006 (Geographic Information-Data Quality Measures)


Other Federal Standards Activities

  • Geospatial Intelligence Standards Working Group
  • FGDC Cultural Resource Subcommittee
  • Environmental Data Standards Council
  • Earth Science Data and Information System (ESDIS) Standards Office


Federal Agency or Resource Specific Standards

FGDC Discontinued Standards Projects

  • Environmental Hazards Geospatial Data Content Standard
  • Hydrographic Data Content Standard for Coastal and Inland Waterways
  • Riparian Mapping Standard
  • National Hydrography Framework Data Standard
  • Federal Standards for Delineation of Hydrologic Unit Boundaries

FGDC In Development Standards Projects and Resource Specific Existing Standards

  • FGDC-STD-017-2011 (Federal Trails Data Standards)
  • US Government Real Property Asset Data Standard
  • ANSI-INCITS 353:2006 (Spatial Data Standards for Facilities, Infrastructure and Environment)
  • FGDC-STD-001.1-1999 (Content Standard for Digital Geospatial Metadata:  Part I, Biological Data Profile)
  • FGDC-STD-001.2-2001 (Content Standard for Digital Geospatial Metadata:  Part 2, Metadata Profile for Shoreline Data)
  • FGDC-STD-004-2013 (Classification of Wetlands and Deepwater Habitats in the United States)
  • FGDC-STD-005-2008 (National Vegetation Classification Standard, Version2)
  • FGDC-STD-006 (Soil Geographic Data Standard)
  • FGDC-STD-015-2009 (Wetlands Mapping Standard)
  • FGDC-STD-018-2012 (Coastal and Marine Ecological Classification Standard)
  • INCITS 145-1986 (Codes for Identification of Hydrologic Units in the US and the Caribbean Outlying Areas)
  • Earth Cover Classification Standard (discontinued)
  • Geologic Data Model
  • Shoreline Data Content Standard
  • Content Standards for Framework Land Elevation Data
  • Cultural Resources Geospatial Data Content Standard


Agency Specific Standards Projects and Resource Specific Existing Standards

  • BLM – Standard for Transmittal of GIS Data to SHPO Data Systems
  • DHS – National Information Exchange Model
  • DoD – Spatial Data Standards for Facilities, Infrastructure and Environment
  • FS – Cultural Properties Data Standard
  • NPS – Cultural Resource Spatial Data Transfer Standard
  • Nez Perce Tribe – Cultural Resource Spatial Data
  • Wildfire – GIS Standard Operating Procedures on Incidents
  • EPA – Biological Taxonomy Data Standard
  • EPA – Enforcement and Compliance Data Standard
  • EPA – ESAR: Project V2
  • EPA – Facility Site Identification Data Standard
  • EPA – Permitting Information Data Standard
  • EPA – Tribal Identifier Data Standard
  • EPA – Areas of Critical Environmental Concern
  • BLM – Easements and Rights-of-Way Data Standard
  • BLM – Resource Area Boundaries
  • BLM – Wild and Scenic Rivers Data Standard
  • FWS – Critical Habitat Spatial Data Specifications
  • FWS – Ecosystem Unit Boundaries
  • USGS – National Hydrography Dataset Standards
  • NRCS – Watershed Boundary Data