Spatial Data Transfer Standard (SDTS), Parts 1-7


While the SDTS had provided a common mechanism for transferring digital geospatial data among different systems and for sharing and integrating data from many diverse sources", Geography Markup Language (GML) now satisfies the encoding requirements that SDTS provided. 
GML is an open, vendor-neutral eXtensible Markup Language (XML) encoding for transport and storage of geographic information. It may be combined with other XML encodings that support varied data applications. GML furnishes the default payload-encoding for transporting geographic features in Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) Web Feature Services. GML was originally developed by OGC, which is an international industry consortium of nearly 500 companies, government agencies and universities that participate in a open consensus process to develop publicly available interface standards. The OGC lists 40 organizations with 89 products with 95 implementations of GML 3.2.1. 
GML 3.2.1 was subsequently approved and published as an ISO standard (ISO being the International Organization for Standardization), ISO 19136:2007, and as an American National Standard. The OGC lists 40 organizations with 89 products with 95 implementations of GML 3.2.1. The FGDC has endorsed GML 3.2.1. GML 3.2.1 is also listed as a mandated standard in the Department of Defense Information Technology Standards Repository (DISR), which means that systems procured by the DoD must comply with GML.

Withdrawn standards

  • Parts 1-4, FGDC-STD-002
  • Part 5, Raster Profile with Basic Image Interchange Format (BIIF) Extension, FGDC-STD-002.5-1998
  • Part 6, Point Profile
  • Part 7, Computer-Aided Design and Drafting (CADD) Profile