Personal tools
You are here: Home Standards Organization External standards organizations
Document Actions

External standards organizations

Revised OMB Circular A-119 (1998) establishes policies on Federal use and development of voluntary consensus standards and on conformity assessment activities. Pub. L. 104-113, the "National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act of 1995," codified existing policies in A-119, established reporting requirements, and authorized the National Institute of Standards and Technology to coordinate conformity assessment activities of the agencies.

FGDC participation in external standards organizations


  • INCITS Technical Committee L1, Geographic Information Systems - The work of INCITS L1 consists of adopting or adapting information technology standards and developing standards used in creating, defining, describing, and processing digital geographic data. INCITS L1 is the means by which the FGDC and its member agencies participate in ISO and ANSI standardization activities for standardization activities in geographic information. INCITS L1 serves as the U.S. technical advisory group (TAG) to ISO Technical Committee 211 (ISO TC 211), Geographic information/Geomatics.
  • ANSI is the U.S. member body of the International Organization for Standardization, or ISO. ANSI accredits standards developers, certification bodies and technical advisory groups (TAGs) to both ISO and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).
  • ISO describes itself as a "network of the national standards institutes of 147 countries, on the basis of one member per country." Standards development is carried out by technical committees, including ISO Technical Committee 211.
  • Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) is a consortium aimed at growing interoperability for technologies involving spatial information and location. OGC has a liaison relationship with ISO TC 211. FGDC member agencies are members of OGC.
  • Other consortium activities include:
  • The American Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) has a home page for its Standards Committee.
  • The National Emergency Number Association (NENA) is a professional organization solely focused on 9-1-1 policy, technology, operations, and education issues. It is also an ANSI-accredited Standards Developer.  It has vetted and approved several OGC standards for use in NextGen 9-1-1.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2014 04:41 PM
Spinner Image